Imperial Wax


Sex1902 Imperial Wax Final Front Cover


photo by Elmore
Imperial Wax photo by Elmore


Press Statement

Imperial Wax are pleased to present their debut album Gastwerk Saboteurs, delivering twelve memorable songs showcasing their distinctly vital and infectious blend of post-punk, rock ‘n’ roll and garage rock.  “Imperial Wax are noise rock & garage brawlers unafraid of a psych workout or a rockabilly dust-up.” (Nick Hutchings, Velvet Sheep) The album shall be released via Saustex Records – recommended by friend of the band Jeff Pinkus (Butthole Surfers, Melvins) – on 17th May, preceded by the first single “No Man’s Land” which is officially released today and is streaming above. An accompanying video has premiered on The Quietus today also.  The four-piece comprising frontman Sam Curran and Keiron Melling, Dave Spurr and Pete Greenway – three 11 year veterans in the longest serving and last line up of The Fall – shall be touring in support of their debut, check out the dates and details below.  

Tour dates

Saturday 19th October Rotterdam, Netherlands, Left Of The Dial Festival
Wednesday 23rd October Nijmegen Netherlands, Merleyn
Friday 25th October Berlin, Germany, Kantine am Berghain
Saturday 26th October Amsterdam, Netherlands, London Calling (Paradiso)
Wednesday 6th November Dublin, Ireland, The Sound House
Thursday 7th November Limerick, Ireland, Kasbah Social Club
Friday 8th November Galway, Ireland, Roisin Dubh
Saturday 9th November Belfast, Ireland, Speakeasy
Thursday 21st November Southampton, Joiners
Friday 22nd November Milton Keynes, The Craufurd Arms
Monday 25th November Sheffield, The Leadmill
Tuesday 26th November Stafford, Redrum
Wednesday 27th November Leicester, The Cookie
Thursday 28th November Edinburgh, Sneaky Pete’s
Friday 29th November Stockton-on-Tees, The Georgian Theatre
Saturday 30th November Preston, The Ferret

The album was produced by Mat Arnold (Noisettes, The Coral, Peter Gabriel, The Fall) Ex in-house engineer at Real World Studios. Mastered by award winning mastering engineer Andy Pearce who has remastered works for (Elvis Presley, Motörhead, Black Sabbath, Frank Sinatra, Lou Reed, Bo Diddley, X-Ray Specs, The Kinks).

1 The Art Of Projection
2 Turncoat
3 Saying Nothing
4 Wax On
5 Plant The Seed
6 Barely Getting By
7 Rammy Taxi Illuminati
8 No Man’s Land
9 Poison Ivy 
10 Wax Off 
11 More Fool Me
12 Night Of The Meek 
Pete Greenway – Guitar/Stylophone 
Keiron Melling – Drums/piano/percussion/harmonica/Bv’s 
Dave Spurr – Bass/piano/bv’s 
Sam Curran – vocals/guitar/Hammond 
Recommended especially if you like:
Royal Trux, Big Black, Minutemen, Birthday Party, Beefheart, The Stooges, Can, Love, Velvet Underground, Little Richard, Jerry Lee Lewis, Old Doo-Wop, Afrobeat, Motorhead, Cows, Hepa.Titus, Black Sabbath, Black Flag, Mudhoney, James Brown, Howlin’ Wolf…