MJ Guider to release second album of twilit shoegaze and gothic pop, Sour Cherry Bell incoming on 18th Sept via Kranky

Photography By Craig Mulcahy  www.craigmulcahy.net
Photography By Craig Mulcahy Www.craigmulcahy.net


Melissa Guion’s second offering for Kranky retains the glassy gauze of her debut, 2016’s Precious Systems, but shaded starker and darker, framed by mechanical rhythms and humid industrial moods. She speaks of Sour Cherry Bell as something of a reckoning with her tools of creation: “I was curious to see how far I could go with them, even if that meant reaching the ends of their capacity to do what I wanted. But I never exhausted them and they never exhausted me.”

Utilising her trusted combination of instrumentation, Guion tracked the record between her New Orleans home and rehearsal space, capturing chemistries both intimate and expansive. The songs sway between twilit shoegaze, downer ballads, and gothic pop, mapping a delicate palette of electric melancholies, though in retrospect she cites as her primary muse the notion of power: “lost and found, corporeal and cerebral, harnessed and exploited, of one and many, in this reality and the next.”

Sour Cherry Bell reverberates beyond the here and now into scenes unseen, worlds unheard.

Track Listing:
1. Lowlight
2. The Steelyard
3. FM Secure
4. Cherry Bell Blacktop
5. Body Optics
6. Quiet Time
7. Simulus
8. Perfect Interference
9. Sourbell
10. Petrechoria


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

4 × 1 =