Wolfbrigade release “The Wolfman” official video, tenth album incoming on Southern Lord November 8th


Long-running Swedish d-beat/hardcore punk icons Wolfbrigade present the sole single from their impending tenth full-length, The Enemy: Reality, set for release next week through Southern Lord Recordings. The hammering new track “The Wolfman” has been revealed through an official new video.  Directed by MeANkind and edited by Henrik Norsell, “The Wolfman” is built upon the theme of Sigmund Freud’s “Wolfman’s dream.” The video is an incredibly stark, prime example not only of Wolfbrigade’s long-established, ever progressing sound, but also of the band’s political message, beliefs, and outlook on humanity. A visual amalgamation of Orwellian overwatch by governmental powers, lessons unlearned from the nuclear arms race of the mid-1900s, and our current state of worldwide socio-political unrest serves as a backdrop for the band’s raging d-beat angst and scathing vocal detestation. 

On the wind-bitten plains of Skaraborg, Sweden, the wolves have arisen once again. They are on the prowl, yearning for your blood, warm and fresh. On their tenth full-length album Wolfbrigade go deep and they are ruthless. This time they have only submitted to themselves; from recording to production and art work. Working in isolation resulted in sharpened ears and teeth. The ten songs rip into both body and mind, with no holds barred regarding power, substance and melody.

This time around, Wolfbrigade’s hybrid beast of Swedish hardcore and death metal known as Lycanthro Punk has become even more distinct. These ten tracks of destruction display both a love for 80’s metal hooks and intros, as well as primitive hardcore brutality.

The lyrics dissect the state of human existence, the bizarre animal presence that we are. The naked apes. Exploring the dynamics that rule man. Power and submission. Manipulation. The injustices of inequality. This is an album seething with anger and frustration.

The band remark “Humans are a narcissistic breed, incapable of real change. This album is a way for us to deal with the fact that we are one of a large pack, submitting to the same societal norms as everyone else. No matter how much we would like it to be different. We are all on the same crazy trip.”

The Enemy: Reality track listing
Sum of All Vices
Fire Untamed
The Wolfman
Hammer to the Skull
Narcissistic Breed
Nightmare of Wolves
Doomsday Dominion
Wells of Despair
Human Beast
Hunt the Hunter Wolfbrigade are:
Jocke Rydbjer – Guitar 
Micke Dahl – Vocals 
Erik Norberg – Guitar 
Johan Erken – Bass 
Tommy Storback – Drums 

Southern Lord shall release The Enemy: Reality on all formats on 8th November. Pre-order information to follow soon. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

eighteen − six =