The Wraith, Los Angeles-based dark punk band to release their debut Gloom Ballet via Southern Lord on November 29th


Los Angeles-based dark punk band The Wraith will release their Mat Mitchell-produced debut full-length, Gloom Ballet, through Southern Lord on November 29th, the label share the album’s track listing, cover art, and new details on the album.  

Gloom Ballet delivers twelve infectious tracks drenched in the band’s ‘80s UK post-punk (Death Cult, Killing Joke, Chameleons) and SoCal deathrock (T.S.O.L., Samhain) influences. Recorded by Pucifer guitarist/producer Mat MitchellGloom Ballet was mastered at Audiosiege by Brad Boatright (From Ashes Rise, Tragedy, Alaric) and the artwork by Rebecca Sauve.  

Gloom Ballet Track List:

1. Ballad Of Aeon

2. Wing Of Night

3. Prevail

4. Toil

5. Of The Earth

6. Pyro

7. Piano Interlude

8. Devil’s Serenade

9. I Expire

10. Gift Of Suffering

11. Barbed Wire

12. Cannot Die 

The Wraith are:

Kaz Alvis – guitar/vocals

Davey Bales – vocals

Jef Pauly – drums

Paul Rogers – bass/vocals 

The Wraith will perform at LA Dark Fest this Saturday, October 12th with Only Theatre Of Pain (Rikk Agnew of Christian Death), Joe Wood (ex-TSOL), Meldamor (Dave Parley from Prayers), Deth Crux, 13th Sky, Detoxi, and more – details here.

Additional dates in the pipeline.  A brief history… The Wraith was founded by imposing frontman Davey Bales, formerly of Virginia peace-punks Lost Tribe, and Kaz Alvis shortly after they both (separately) washed up in Los Angeles. Their irresistibly distinctive sound – skeletal basslines and tribal beats propelling Alvis’ textured swathes beneath Bales’ poetic, anguished bark – immediately gained a following, with homemade demo Comatic Romanceracking-up thousands of YouTube views. Convulsive, chaotic West Coast US shows honed the songs that became The Wraith’s lauded 2017 EP, Shadow Flag. A couple of videos and line-up changes later – the band is now completed by Belgian drummer Jef Pauly and Brit bassist Paul Rogers – their evocative songwriting and pure-punk authenticity earned the ear of Mat Mitchell, who has worked with Love And Rockets, The Flaming Lips, Meat Puppets, King Crimson, and more. Mitchell recorded the band’s debut LP, Gloom Ballet, and earlier this year, the band signed to Southern Lord Recordings for the worldwide release of the album.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

20 − sixteen =