Six Organs Of Admittance announce new album Companion Rises out via Drag City, February 21st 2020


Six Organs of Admittance is back with a new record, new techniques in sound generation, and a new energy. Arriving three years after Burning the ThresholdCompanion Rises has a driving force only hinted at previously. Due out on Drag City on February 21st 2020. 

Methodologically, Companion Rises sometimes recalls the early-mid lo-fi Six Organs records, with digital processes substituting for the analog techniques of yore and, instead of Ben Chasny’s hand percussion overdubs, algorithmic programs generating rhythms. Ben Chasny created all sounds and programs, all the recording and mixed the entire record, also like some earlier ones – but don’t mistake this for a simplistic return to an older sound. Just one listen makes it clear that this new Six Organs of Admittance release is entirely in the present. 

Sonically, the songs are bursting with ideas, harmonically rich, gorgeously arranged; utilising synthesizer and guitar distortion for unique colouring effects while crafting contrasting versions of the song within itself, overlaying electric and acoustic treatments that interlock like two shards to form a single key. The rush of excitement is palpable, track after track. 

Thematically, Companion Rises navigates a similar Stellar-Gnosticism as 2012’s Ascent, while exploring a completely different set of stories. Whereas Ascent was locked into a narrative concerning a sentient Jupiter, Companion Rises presents a handful of folk-tales whose topics span in scope from panspermia to specific constellations, all written in a way that eschews old new age presentation tropes and embraces the now. One thinks of Octavio Paz’s oft-used metaphor of the concentric circle, as Companion Rises returns to a similar place but much farther out from the center.

With Companion Rises, Ben Chasny has created a Sci-Folk record that feels very much right-place, right-time as we welcome in the new decade. Listen to the first single “Two Forms Moving” above and preorder the new album for February 21st.

Track Listing


Two Forms Moving

The Scout Is Here  

Black Tea  

Companion Rises

The 101  

Haunted And Known  

Mark Yourself Worn

Down to the Light

Also From Six Organs of Admittance:
DC282 School of the Flower LP
DC312 The Sun Awakens LP
DC348 Shelter From the Ash LP/CD
DC383 RTZ 2xCD
DC409 Luminous Night LP/CD
DC453 Asleep On the Floodplain LP/CD
DC519 Ascent LP/CD
DC616 Hexadic LP/CD
DC643 Hexadic II LP/CS

Six Organs of Admittance Online: 

Drag City-
Pre Order-
Stream “Two Forms Moving”-

Official Site-

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

two × 4 =