SIGE records proudly presents a new release from Nordra, Pylon II is incoming Sept 21st

Tthm Nordrabyreidhaithcockcopy
(Photo by Reid Haithcock)


“There’s a very emotional, singer-songwriter-esque song buried in here…I don’t think anyone would know that upon listening. It’s being manipulated and thrown around by sidechaining kicks, and noisey guitar. This section was the climax of the choreography, filled with lots of running and cathartic movement, followed by a calming resolve…. ”  – Monika Khot

Following the imminent release of Black Spirituals’ new album, Aaron Turner’s SIGE Records are ready to announce the next release, Pylon II by Nordra, incoming on September 21st.

Nordra is the solo project of composer, programmer, and activist Monika Khot, who is also half of the avant noise/prog duo Zen Mother. As Nordra, Khot uses guitar, trumpet, voice, synthesizers, and other electronic and acoustic instruments to craft exploratory, inquisitive
music that is both cerebral and soulful, combining post-industrial elements with musique concrète and gently melodic ambience.

Pylon II is an original score composed for an immersive performance choreographed by Coleman Pester for the 9e2 festival of technologically-driven art. This multimedia piece uses architectural design and live surveillance feeds to probe the dynamic relationship between observation and consent.

Nordra’s riveting score captures perfectly the tension between the vulnerability of embodiment and the dystopian apathy of the technological gaze, subtly raising questions about control and
complicity through the lens of its own deftly manipulated simulacrum.

This limited edition vinyl release of Pylon II from SIGE records follows Nordra’s 2017 self-titled debut for the label, praised by for ”sounding like nothing else and not at all attempting to” (by Emily Posthast)

Pylon II track listing:
1. Vogue
2. The Mass
3. Unaware
4. Nordra Ships
5. Reflections
6. Control
7. The Commercial
8. Fleeting Memory
9. Destruction Aftermath
10. Human


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 × 4 =