Steve Hauschildt


PromoImage (5)

Press photos

Credit: Leigh Silverblatt
Credit: Leigh Silverblatt
Credit: Leigh Silverblatt
Credit: Leigh Silverblatt


Press statement

Steve Hauschildt, kranky’s craftsman of electronic kosmische enchantment, and once a member of the seminal outfit Emeralds, has wasted no time after the release of 2015’s Where All Is Fled, with the release of a new LP, entitled Strands, this October.

Graceful compositions flow throughout Steve Hauschildt’s fourth release for kranky with the songs fluctuating from the serene calm of album opener ‘Horizon of Appearances’, to the pulsing hypnosis of ‘Ketracel’, and on to searing grandeur of album closer ‘Die in Fascination’. Throughout, Steve remains restrained and in complete control of his sound, a true artisan in experimental electronica.

Steve comments on the themes and thought behind Strands with the following…”Strands is a song cycle that is about cosmogony and creation/destruction myths. The title alludes to the structural constitution of ropes as I wanted to approach the compositions so that they consisted of strands and fibres which form a unified whole. This was so the songs could have the appearance of being either taut or slack without being fundamentally locked to a grid. So the sounds/tones have a certain malleability to them and sound like they’re bending through time. It’s also grittier and more distorted than my previous albums. I wanted to try and capture that moment in nature and society where life slowly re-emerges through desolation, so it has a layer of optimism looming underneath. The music represents this by seemingly decaying at times but then reforms and morphs in a fluid way back to its original state. I was also inspired by the movement of rivers, particularly their transformative aspect and how they’re in a state of flux and change, in particular the Cuyahoga River in Cleveland where I live, which notoriously caught on fire thirteen times because of industrial pollution in the 1960s and before. I was very interested in the dichotomy of oil and water and the resulting, unnatural symptoms of human industry. It’s a very personal record for me as it is a reflection of my hometown where I grew up and where it was mostly recorded.”

1. Horizon of Appearances
2. Same River Twice
3. A False Seeming
4. Ketracel
5. Time We Have
6. Strands
7. Transience of Earthly Joys
8. Die in Fascination


Here, he’s matched his well-established talents as a composer of cosmic ambient with a new depth of artistic direction.” – RESIDENT ADVISOR

It demands attentive listening, only because it can so easily slip into the delirious wonders of foreign realms.” – SPIN

His first solo album in three years is his most emotionally potent offering yet, taking the gentle ecstasy of previous records and drawing it into a deep, soul-cleansing reverie.” – PITCHFORK





Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

16 − ten =