Artwork: Paul Romano

Artwork: Paul Romano


(Photo credit: Devine Images)

Photo credit: Devine Images


^The samples are results and outtakes of the late night studio sessions giving birth to their geniously intense seventh album Asphalt for Eden.

Press statement

The long-running and legendary trio of Dälek have returned with a new album on Profound Lore, after calling an end to their hiatus earlier in 2015. Their first full-length since 2009, Asphalt For Eden saw release on April 22nd, and is a perception-warping explosion of beats and masterful flow, with orders now being taken.

Conceived in New Jersey from its emerging DIY scene from the late ‘90s, cult hip-hop trio Dälek were known as pioneers over the last fifteen years for their intriguing sound which fuses a blend of progressive hip-hop artistry supported by a rhythmic backdrop consisting of sonic experimentation through noise music and dark ambience. Their singularity would be highlighted in five groundbreaking full-length albums: Gutter Tactics (2009), Abandoned Language (2007), Absence (2005), …From Filthy Tongue of Gods and Griots (2002) – all released on Ipecac Recordings – as well as Negro Necro Nekros (1998) on Gern Blandsten. Dälek supported those albums on tour for over a decade and have shared stages with influential artists such as KRS One, Tomahawk, The Melvins, TOOL, Grandmaster Flash, Jesu, Dillinger Escape Plan, Pharcyde, RJD2, DeLa Soul, Prince Paul, Lovage, ZU, Black Heart Procession, Gaslamp Killer, Earth, Flying Lotus, The Bug, Mastodon, Fantomas and more. In 2011, Dälek quietly went on hiatus for an undetermined amount of time, as the members needed a break from the rigorous schedule on the road.

Fast forward to Spring 2015, mastermind and producer MC Dälek (a.k.a. Will Brooks, with the blessing of ex-member/co-producer Oktopus) revived Dälek with a new lineup which now includes DJ rEk on turntables and co-producer Mike Manteca on samplers and effects. The trio have returned with their signature mind numbing, genre bending blend of beats, noise and lyricism and are preparing to release the highly anticipated first official Dälek release since their last full-length, 2009’s Gutter Tactics. Titled Asphalt For Eden, this new album sees a new creative peak for Dälek and will bring a new awareness for this cult hip-hop entity now resurrected and ready to show a formidable display of true hip hop artistry and experimentation. Asphalt For Eden also marks Dälek’s first collaboration with progressive music label Profound Lore.

Following Asphalt For Eden‘s release, Dälek will hit the road in support of it. Their live performances are known as intense events that often end in a shoved mic stand and sonically assaultive layers of sound. Witnessing Dälek live is like coming face to face with the bastard child of Public Enemy and My Bloody Valentine; an amalgamation of the heaviest noise that the Velvet Underground or Merzbow ever unleashed and the knowledge spit by the likes of Rakim. The trio leaves you in a trance, sends shivers down your spine from the haunting beats intertwined with ambient textures and noise scales, and hits you with a powerful raw flow from one of the most charismatic MC’s of his, or any, era.

1. Shattered
2. Guaranteed Struggle
3. Masked Laughter (Nothing’s Left)
4. Critical
5. 6dB
6. Control
7. It Just Is

Dälek’s take on hip-hop is foreboding and hypnotic in a way that feels unexpected; sure, in the Age of Future, creepy, dark vibes are almost de rigeur, but Dälek takes it a step further towards the abyss by incorporating a seething electronic edge—think Einstürzende Neubauten, not Soundcloud… Their sound is so complex and quixotic that the group has also found itself sharing stages with the disparate, experimental likes of KRS One, Tomahawk, The Melvins, TOOL, Grandmaster Flash, Jesu, Dillinger Escape Plan, Mastodon, and Earth. On Asphalt for Eden, harsh EBM and biting electronic beats mesh bizarrely well with long, winding sheets of shoegaze (see the glorious ethereal swell of “Masked Laughter (Nothing’s Left)”), trills of trip-hop, and MC Dälek’s purposeful, enunciated rhymes.” – NOISEY

Asphalt For Eden is no less vitriolic, menacing or visionary than before. A swelling mass of synths and effects-laden guitars build awe-inspiring, monumental walls of sound through which the beats and rhymes dance a tune riling against the ills of this world. Politics, religion, social injustice and violence aren’t safe from the razor-sharp tongue of Mr Brooks; eschewing the swagger and cockiness plaguing many who try to make their (often all-too self-serving) voices heard, it is his intelligence and wit that drives these diatribes we should all be taking note of.” – THE MUSIC FIX

Hip hop noise archfiends chop-shop a Trump-felling Americancruiser of uncivil alliterative growling. Bug-heavy bass and slow-rolling illbient hiss.” – MOJO

Dälek are both brilliant and unique.” – BUZZ MAGAZINE



Return to Top ▲Return to Top ▲